The first hospital in Campbell River was built in 1914 with 22 beds. It was operated by a local board of trustees with funding collected from local logging companies. The hospital was forced to close due to lack of funds in 1924. The hospital re-opened in 1926, operated by the Sisters of St. Ann under the name Our Lady of Lourdes. In 1929 an additional wing was added to the building, bringing the bed count up to 44. This hospital, located on the site now occupied by Campbell River City Hall, operated until 1957.
A small but influential group of citizens struck a committee in 1953 to work towards construction of a new public general hospital for the growing community. With overwhelming support from the community, land donated by the Village and funding from the provincial Ministry of Health, the 60-bed Campbell River & District General Hospital was built, opening in September 1957. Several additions took place in the years to follow.
Over the years, Campbell River grew from a small logging, commercial and sport fishing area to a vibrant, diverse collection of people and industries. As the population increased, health services in the community also expanded to include Home Health Care, Mental Health and Substance Use services, Public Health nursing, health protection services, residential care and more.
The new Campbell River Hospital will build on this legacy of care in the community, extending and expanding services through the use of new technologies. It will elevate the standard of care in the community, on Vancouver Island, and across the province of BC.
Please read more About the Project for more details.